2014 August Meeting


General Membership Meeting
14 August 2014
At Thomas Edison State College, Trenton
Convened at: 7:24 p.m.

No official minutes were kept for the July 2014 meeting as the Recording Secretary had resigned and no one was appointed to keep official minutes for the meeting. A copy of an email submitted by Brian Viehland will be considered the meeting summary for July 2014.

The following Civic Associations were present: Rutherford Heights, Cadwalader Place, Fisher Pl, Cadwalader Heights, Franklin Park, Chambersburg, West Ward Neighborhood Assn, Hiltonia, Euclid Ave, Villa Park, Melrose Ave, Island, James J Abbott Apts, Louis Josephson Apts times two,

Speakers presented as follow:

Det Cynthia Hargis and Mary Melendez were present from the TPD. Det Hargis covers N and W and Det Melendez E and S for community policing. Will attend our meetings and are generally always available to take citizen concerns. They also attend neighborhood meetings.

No Treasurer currently exits and no report was made.

President Hunt announced the $500.00 deposit to the hotel had been returned and deposited. He also said three $100.00 ads have been received for the banquet program.

The Banquet Committee reported we are looking at 14 Nov at the Masonic Temple. They will be charging us $1455 for rent. We will need to get insurance, rent our own dishes, etc and own catering. It will be a BYOB affair. Currently the projected cost per person is $45.00.

President Hunt announced the following are the honorees for 2014:

Civic Assn Project: Melrose Ave
Citizen of Year: Mr McCray of the West Ward Comm Ctr
Business of Yr: Investors Bank
Public Employee of Year: Det Hargis
Student of Year: TBA

There were also several Presidents Awards announced.

Old Business:

Approval of the By Laws as submitted in July. President Hunt declared this an illegal action and refused to allow a vote…

Special Election: President Hunt declared this also would not happen, but as it had been voted on and agreed to by a majority of the associations in July the election was conducted. Ballots had been prepared by the individuals desiring to run for office. Mr. Blakely of Josephson Apts agreed to act as official election monitor. Mr. Duncan Harrison, City Council member at Large counted the votes.

The following were elected:

President: Brian Viehland
1st VP: Rachel Cogsville-Latimer
2nd VP: Chester Jones
Recording Sec; Elizabeth Yull
Corresponding Sec: Ed Wittmann
Treasurer: Patrick Hall

Upon the rendering of the results of the election Mr. Hunt took his leave.

Following the Election newly elected President Viehland took over conduct of the meeting.

At this time the By Law changes were introduced. Moved by Ed Wittmann, seconded by Chester Jones and passed.

President Viehland announced appointments for various committees.

Budget: Patrick Hall
Membership: Elizabeth Yull
Special Events: Chester Jones
Outreach to Assn: Ed Wittmann
Civic and Govt Relations: Brian Viehland

New Business:

David Brown asked if a speaker could come to a future meeting to discuss the Landlord/Tenant ord. All agreed this was a good idea.

Ms. Cogsville presented the TCCA T Shirt and announced a fundraising activity. She will be sending out an order form. Shirts are $20.00 and available in multiple sizes.

Patrick Hall said we need to market our organization to include youth in the community.

The Web site needs work. Ed will be on top of this.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:50 pm.

Next meeting: Sept 11, 2014.
Meeting was adjourned 8:50 pm

Elizabeth M Yull

Elizabeth M Yull, Recording Secretary